When we were first assigned the podcast assignment, I was kind of worried because I had never listened to one before.  Then Professor Bielecki asked how many of us had listened to one and realized I was not the only one.  Before that, I always thought podcasts were the things you could download for free from the iTunes store, and I assumed with that came a lot of ads.  After being introduced to the podcast examples, I had gained more insight on the whole idea of using only audio to portray your entire idea.  Then, since I flew solo on the first project, I decided on working with a group.  With this, we had the advantage of having interaction with our group mates as opposed to being stuck to monologues, having to bring in outside help to have dialogue.  Another advantage I felt is I wouldn’t put the whole project on myself, not to mention having to go through listening to my own voice for ten plus minutes.

ipod-nano-podcast

Overall, I believe doing the project with my group was the right call.  We were able to come up with a somewhat controversial topic- media bias.  Then, we had all three of us weigh in on our opinions.  When the idea first came up I thought it sounded a little bit bland, but once we came up with a few examples to support evidence of media bias, it not only became more factual, but also more interesting.  The examples we chose to portray media bias were the Trayvon Martin case, and politics.  You guys will just have to listen in to the podcast to hear the rest on media bias.  Coming up with the topic was actually easier with a group I felt too.  Mostly because we were all very open-minded as to which topic but also because we were able to collaborate, I believe our topic was right on point with what the professor ordered, having to do with digital technology, and it was something controversial which we could all draw our own opinions from.

trayvon-martin-photo-media-george-zimmerman-photo-bias-sad-hill-news2

Finally, actually doing the project was pretty entertaining.  I told my group that working with audacity and wearing the headphones kind of made me feel like I was in a beat laboratory.  Our group discussed the Trayvon Martin case quite extensively, trying to cover how media bias affected it on all points.  When we were discussing that, I felt like sometimes it would have been a good idea to start recording so then we could throw in a natural discussion into our podcast.  We ended up doing just that, but after discussing the same thing for about three or four days it began to get a little bland.  As a result, the arguments we may have brought up early on in our discussions may have been lost so we wouldn’t repeat the same argument.  Playing around with sound effects, music, and our voices was quite a novelty for me.  I did record audio for my video essay, but it was no where near as extensive as it was for the podcast project.  Throughout the project, we had to stay cognoscente that the audio was our only tool to express ourselves, and we ran into a few issues where we really would have liked to have a picture, but hey we can leave the picturing up to you the listener!

AudacityPortable_128

