For those of you that do not know what Flipboard is, it’s an app that allows you to read thousands of articles based on categories and it keeps you up to date with the latest in each category. The app has every category you can think of and even linked with big cooperations like VH1, CNET, ESPN, etc.. It’s a really great app and if you don’t have it you should download it.

flipboardicon

So earlier today I was flipping through my Flipboard app and I came across this article: The FBI May Be Working To Install Surveillance Taps On Major US Telecom Carriers. So basically the FBI is now finding away to use “eavesdropping technology” on the entire internet. They will be able to tap into anyone’s browsing history, social media sites, or even past conversations. The example that they use involves the telecommunications companies, saying that the FBI will force them to install the technology in their services in order for the FBI to be able to track metadata. This is technically a misuse of the law. The FBI would be bending laws that are intended for telephonic information to be rerouted to what would be their headquarters for this project.

 I understand why the government wants to do this. It will make it easier and quicker to be able to detect a threat to our country, because most likely the threat has connections in the United States, and they would be communicating through either the internet or the phone. I’m all for the protection of our country, but I feel like this is going a little to far. To know that the government could possible be listening to a telephone conversation i’m having or be able to read my Facebook messages just makes me feel like my privacy would be extremely violated. We are supposed to be “the land of the free” but how can we be free when Big Brother is constantly watching every move we make or hearing every word we say?
no-privacy
Am I the only one who feels like enough is enough? I am definitely not a threat to this country, the most trouble I’ve gotten into with the law is a parking ticket, but government will still develop technology to invade my privacy?! I understand if I had any suspicious activity that was associated with my name, but the majority of us have no reason for the government to be suspicious of us. Somehow they need to find a happy medium between too little interference and too much interference, because I do not believe a lot of people will be happy about this and we do not want a reenactment of the French Revolution to happen here in the United States.
unclesamwatchingyou
