This blog post is in response to biancaolsen’s post: Makin’ Something Out of Nothin’ and torischober’s The Media’s influence on Woman Today.

 

Yes, I agree, I believe singers back in past were much more talented and their songs were much more meaningful. I feel that it is not only money or catchy lyrics or music that can captivate the audience, but it is also looks, which I think is quite sad. I grew up watching Chinese dramas and listening to Chinese songs. The older I got, the less I watched. It was not because I lost interest due to other things. But it is really because of the lack of talent that the artists or actors or actresses possess. Yes, these people are quite attractive, however, they cannot act or sing. Singers and actors that were popular in my parents’ generation were presentable and were extremely talented and their works would touch people’s heart. I feel that in today’s society, because of the media creating this ideal picture of everyone looking attractive, make people lose their sense of what talent is. It is like looks can impair one’s judgment.

chinese actresses

At the same time, because people think that looks are important, they would use it as if it was a talent. When I read Tori’s article and saw that she mentions Toddlers and Tiaras I thought of Honey Boo Boo. I do not watch TLC nor do I watch Toddlers and Tiaras, but I have heard of Honey Boo Boo. I am sorry if this comment I am about to make would offend anyone but I think she is overly confident with herself when she is really just making a fool out of herself.

Here is the article where you guys can read more about her if you guys don’t know about her: http://gawker.com/5933309/what-honey-boo-boo-child-is-and-why-you-should-care-a-guide-to-reality-tvs-trashiest-sensation

The media influences girls to think that they should be attractive and that looks are everything. This can actually damage a lot of girl’s self esteem. However, for Honey Boo Boo, it is not the case. She is extremely proud of herself, which I think is a bit extreme. Yes, we should all love ourselves for who we are. However, her level of confidence seems to be soaring, which is an interesting case.

Exclusive - Alana Thompson Competes in "The Sparkle & Shine Pageant"

 

Personally, I think people should care about looks; when I say that, I mean more of making sure they are presentable in a sense of looking proper and tidy. At the same time looks is something we cannot control and it is not everything. It is really one’s talent or hard work that brings success and I wish that people can understand that so then they would not have to go through the pressure of trying to look beautiful or attractive like people portrayed in the media.

Inner Beauty Quotes

