Digital media can be such a burden on students. I know there are plenty of times when I wish I was not constantly surrounded by it. When I wake up I feel the need to immediately pick up my phone, answer my texts and then go on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to see what I missed while I slept. Pathetic, I know, that we obsess over being online. Internet on cell phones was once a blessing but now I think of it as a nightmare. Social media is a staple in most students lives. Scratch that, social media is a staple in most people’s lives. You can find Facebook profiles for babies, television characters, grandparents- pretty much anybody. Between Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Tumblr and the tons of other sites that exist people always have a way to occupy themselves. Without social media where would people be today?

Technology is a weight on students

Technology is a weight on students

The second a student get bored in class they grab their phone or laptop and start surfing the web. I’ve watched kids watch full movies while sitting in lecture and I think it is insane. Why waste your time going to class if you aren’t even going to listen to what the professor talks about? You pay all this money for school just to sit in class and be distracted for hours at a time by digital media? It is insanity. Nobody should have to rely on social media this heavily to be entertained. What ever happened to reading a book, or writing? I mean if you’re going to sit in class and not do your work at least do something constructive like write a blog or do other class work. I will admit that at times I can get bored in class and I may check my phone or wander on Facebook for a few minutes but that is as far as it goes. It is truly a shame that social media has been glorified to this level and I really do not think that this can be reversed at all.

Technology is constantly clouding the mind

Technology is constantly clouding the mind

I believe it is necessary to find a balance between digital media and person to person contact. One thing I love about traveling is that a lot of the places I go have no internet. And if it does it is a fortune to buy. I will pass up on internet for twenty dollars a day and relax on my vacation with no phone, no internet and no disturbances. Sure I love social media, it is a great way to catch up with people you do not really get to see or talk to, to reconnect with old friends and to “creep” on past friends or exes. This is an example of how media can be used as a good and bad thing. Why do we obsess so much over media when there is so much more to life? Instead of looking at someone’s profile on Facebook you can reach out to them, try and hang out with them, catch up and see what they are up too. There are obviously ups and downs to social media but I think the down sides overwhelm the upside. We are just too blind to realize them because we are so consumed with social media.

 generations_of_re_technology

Eventually students will realize that social media consumes their lives and it is not healthy. No one knows how long this will take but hopefully it will be sooner rather than later. It is funny because if you ever watch an interview with Mark Zuckerberg he boasts and brags about how he wanted to create this site all his friends could use. Yes it is awesome that he was able to build this empire but he is also responsible for creating one of the biggest media crazes ever. For all we know in the future we could be known as “Generation Facebook” after all we are the kids that grew up with computers and have been around technology since day one. Sure I grew up playing outside with friends and using sidewalk chalk and playing jump rope but when I came inside I would play the newest computer game or a game on the original Play Station. Times are definitely changing and students need to stop burdening themselves with media.

