blogging-tags I found “Chasing Ghosts with Arrow Boys (Part 1)” very profound. As the narrator goes from Juba to Nzara, she meets a boy named Alison who did not hesitate to introduce her to the villagers he was trying to defend. He said, “They [LSR] cut your body and put oil inside like magic and it is to change your mind. What you are seeing in not human beings no more, but animals. And if you say you see human beings still, they come again at you and cut your body until you see what the magic tells you to see.” I did not really understand what that meant, but I knew the word “magic” was used in chilling terms. I think it meant that the LRS would take children, particularly young boys, and brainwash them into believing that the people they would torture were not humans but animals. If the children still believe what the LRS believed, the LRS would harm them until they were completely brainwashed. I found that to be very chilling. I could not even imagine what the LRS would do to these children. While I was reading the article, I found the story to be riveting, but I did not really understand how it exactly related to this class. Well, it does not have a direct relationship with this class, but it probably has do to with the influence of having these powerful stories in blogs. I think the point of this blog was to unite people to acknowledge this story in a casual atmosphere so they do not feel intimidated. They would be aware of what is going on in “real time”.

Literature presented by technology can really affect the scope of its readers. Alexandria Chasin’s Brief is a narrative in the form of an iPad app, which is an attempt to present the novel in new, creative, innovative ways. Because the novel is presented in a unique platform, I agree with Michael Leong that it could be on a syllabus or a reading list on appropriation, experimental fiction, new media literature, visual studies, violence and representation, or text and image. I can not say that it is 100 percent guaranteed because it also depends on the context of this narrative (not that I am saying it is not of good context). Despite that, I am sure the way it is presented will have a major impact in popular mass media. As we go from page to page, the app randomly selects images from an archive of over 700 cut, manipulated, and detourned items and wraps the text around them. I think that is really cool. Not only would it be a contextual treat for someone but also a visual one. If these images relate with the themes of the narrative, I think it would give the reader a clearer understanding of what is going on. They would also feel kind of honored to be in a time when something like this is possible because they get to be a part of the emerging of a new innovative platform. I know that would mean a lot to me if I ever experience that.

Free-iPad-Books

