Having a quick, convenient means of communication and information exchange have clearly affected the ways in which people today take in and process information. Based on the ways that I have adapted to a more fast-paced life with easily accesible information, I find that the arguments presented by Wolf, Miller, and Carr are very relevant and persuasive. Wolf illustrates the ways in which newer technologies may be detrimental to peoples’ abilities to read deeply, further compromising their abilities to proces knowledge and grow intellectually. She shows how “Literacy is so much entwined in our lives that we often fail to realize that the act of reading is a miracle that is evolving under our fingertips”, and we have thus not only taken our abilities to read for granted, but we also have forgotten to process and analyze what we read in a meaningful way. This argument that Wolf presents is something that I find very true in relation to my own daily life. As information becomes more readily available, most often due to quick, efficient internet searches, I oftentimes find that instead of fully analyzing the text, I will simply take in the information without thinking critically about it.

This is also supported by Carr’s argument, where he fears that our ability to engage in “deep reading” has become compromised by the rise of the digital age, which I also find rather compelling. Miller too suggests that while the internet serves as the culmination of all the human creations, with “communicative powers surpass[ing] all the preceding technologies for enabling and enhancing human understanding combined”, becoming overly reliant upon its convenience can prove ultimately damaging, unless humans learn to think independently. Overall, I find all three of these arguments largely compelling in relation to the modern world. Personally, I will oftentimes find myself taking in facts and information without meaningful analysis, and as a result, will not learn as much as I could from the written text. As such, I find myself in agreement with Carr, since I do indeed feel that my ability to read deeply and focus on a passage of literature has been somewhat compromised. 

Overall, I think that Carr, Miller, and Wolf share very similar perspectives on the rise of the digital age. However, the three authors seem to examine a different aspect of the issue. While Miller discusses the ways in which technology and digital communication has developed over the years, and shows how it affects how language and written information has changed because of it, Carr more closely examines how human intelligence and thought can be affected by these changes. Wolf meanwhile goes on to demonstrate how children, especially are learning differently now, and how this could prove either positive or negative to humans as a whole, depending upon how we deal with teaching them. She talks about how people “need to develop an expert reading brain before they become totally immersed in the digital world”, a sentiment shared by both Miller and Carr. I believe overall that all three authors are cautioning the readers agains depending on the internet too much. However, I do feel that they also give the collective message that if handled correctly, digital information can also be very useful, as Miller says the coming age of technology can help us ” think and communicate in and with the most powerful medium of our time”.

Over-reliance on the internet for information can prove harmful to our pursuits of our goals

